Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The underground railroad  Cover Image Book Book

The underground railroad / Kate Messner and Gwendolyn Hooks ; illustrated by Damon Smith.

Messner, Kate, (author.). Hooks, Gwendolyn, (author.). Smyth, Damon, 1991- (illustrator.).

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780593428948
  • ISBN: 0593428943
  • ISBN: 9780593428931
  • ISBN: 0593428935
  • Physical Description: 199 pages : illustrations, maps ; 20 cm.
  • Publisher: New York : Random House, [2022]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
One: How slavery came to America -- Two: Ocean crossing -- Three: Resistance and revolts -- Four: Liberty for some -- Five: Freedom's fire -- Six: Heroes and helpers -- Seven: Stories of escape -- Eight: An unjust law -- Nine: Daring and defiance -- Ten: Slavery ends...but its legacy lives on -- A timeline of slavery and the underground railroad -- Author's notes -- Selected bibliography.
Summary, etc.:
"Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth about the Underground Railroad and Black Americans' struggle for freedom. Perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales. Before the Civil War, there was a crack team of abolitionists who used quilts and signal lanterns to guide enslaved people to freedom. Right? Wrong! The truth is, the Underground Railroad wasn't very organized, and most freedom seekers were on their own. With a mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels, acclaimed author Kate Messner and coauthor and Brown Bookshelf contributor Gwendolyn Hooks deliver the whole truth about the Underground Railroad. Discover the nonfiction series that smashes everything you thought you knew about history!"-- Amazon.
Target Audience Note:
Ages 8-12 Random House Children's Books
Subject: Underground Railroad > Juvenile literature.
Slavery > United States > History > Juvenile literature.
African Americans > Social conditions > History > Juvenile literature.

Available copies

  • 23 of 31 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 0 of 1 copy available at Rolla Public.

Holds

  • 1 current hold with 31 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Rolla Public Library JNF 973.7115 MES (Text) 38256101845059 Juvenile Nonfiction Checked out 12/18/2022


Additional Resources